Loaded WaiBOP 0-4 Auckland - NWL 2018

Reigning champions Auckland began their title defence in ideal fashion with a 4-0 triumph over Loaded WaiBOP at Gower Park in Hamilton.

A youthful WaiBOP line-up entered the match looking to upset the defending champions. Michael Mayne’s WaiBOP competed well in the first half to keep a star-studded Auckland scoreless at the break but Jade Parris met a cross from Football Ferns fullback Sarah Morton just before the hour mark to put the visitors in front on an immaculate Gower Park surface.

Auckland then began to turn the screws with Sam Muirhead lifting an effort over WaiBOP goalkeeper Georgia Candy mid-way through the second half before a Lucy Carter penalty made it 3-0. Parris slotted into the bottom corner for her second soon after to give the visitor four goals in a 20 minute spell that completely changed the complection of the match.


Loaded WaiBOP 0-4 Auckland (ht: 0-0)
WBP: none.
AKL: Jade Parris 2, Sam Muirhead, Lucy Carter.

WaiBOP starting XI: 1. Georgia Candy, 3. Kate Williams, 7. Emma Cawte, 9. Helen Talbot, 10. Ella Golding (4. Olivia Hooper 86m), 11. Lilli Muspratt (19. Ashley Weld 86m), 12. Kelli Brown, 13. Tiana Hill, 15. Grace Cox, 16. Grace Wisnewski (8. Stella Neems 64m), 20. Chelsea Elliott (6. Jayden Watts 78m). Sub (not used): Rylee Golbold (rgk).

Photo: Photosport.


Latest News